fighting for the right

Fighting for the Right to Fight

Electronic Field Trip Registration

Celebrate Digital Learning Day and Black History Month in this dynamic and interactive webcast!

Throughout World War II, African Americans pursued a Double Victory: one over the Axis abroad and another over discrimination at home. Major cultural, social, and economic shifts amid a global conflict played out in the lives of these Americans. 

In this live 50-minute program, student reporters examine artifacts from The National WWII Museum's signature special exhibit, travel to California to learn about injustices in a segregated military at Port Chicago Naval Magazine National Memorial, the site of the deadliest munitions disaster during the war, and explore Rosie the Riveter/WWII Home Front National Historical Park to understand transitions and tensions in American defense factories. 

During the webcast, your students will have the opportunity to participate live through polling and Q & A with Museum experts. 

Two opportunities to watch on Thursday, February 22:

  • 10:00 a.m. Eastern/ 9:00 a.m. Central/ 8:00 a.m. Mountain/ 7:00 a.m. Pacific/ 6:00 a.m. Alaska/ 5:00 a.m. Hawaii
  • 1:00 p.m. Eastern/ Noon Central/ 11:00 a.m. Mountain/ 10:00 a.m. Pacific/ 9:00 a.m. Alaska/ 8:00 a.m. Hawaii

Classroom participation is free but requires advance registration. Live captioning will be available for both webcasts. Sign up today!

Can't watch live?

The program will be rebroadcast on Tuesday, February 27, at noon CST with a live chat with a Museum educator. The archived program will also be available to watch for free ON DEMAND. Be sure to register for all of the details about the rebroadcast and recording of the program.

Register


Education Resources


Classroom Guide

Classroom Guide includes exhibit-themed lesson plans, fact sheets, and activity sheets.

Download

Produced in partnership with The National Park Service.

With generous support from Paul and Didi Reilly in honor of Paul J Reilly, US Marine Sergeant, WWII, The Dale E. and Janice Davis Johnston Family Foundation in honor of Dr. Earle R. Davis and his service aboard the USS Tranquillity, the Albert and Ethel Herzstein Charitable Foundation, Alan & Diane Franco, and the C. Jay Moorhead Foundation.

Additional support provided by Fabenco Founding Fathers Foundation and Anonymous.