Electronic Field Trip: Fighting for the Right to Fight

Celebrate Digital Learning Day and Black History Month in this dynamic and interactive webcast!

February 22 9:00 AM - 9:50 AM
Electronic Field Trip
Registration Closed

Call for more info

+ Add to calendar 2018-02-22 9:00:00 AM 2018-02-22 9:50:00 AM America/Mexico_City Your Computer 945 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130 Electronic Field Trip: Fighting for the Right to Fight Celebrate Digital Learning Day and Black History Month in this dynamic and interactive webcast!
Location: Your Computer
945 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130

Celebrate Digital Learning Day and Black History Month in this dynamic and interactive webcast!

Throughout World War II, African Americans pursued a Double Victory: one over the Axis abroad and another over discrimination at home. Major cultural, social, and economic shifts amid a global conflict played out in the lives of these Americans. Discover fascinating stories of struggle, setbacks, triumphs, and heroism of individuals who changed history in the Electronic Field Trip: Fighting for the Right to Fight: African American Experiences in World War II. In this live 50-minute program, student reporters examine artifacts from The National WWII Museum's signature special exhibit, travel to California to learn about injustices in a segregated military at Port Chicago Naval Magazine National Memorial, the site of the deadliest munitions disaster during the war, and explore Rosie the Riveter/WWII Home Front National Historical Park to understand transitions and tensions in American defense factories.

In this interactive cross-country journey, students learn how the pursuit for both victory and equality shaped the story of World War II and transformed the United States for decades to come.  During the webcast, your students will have the opportunity to participate live through polling and Q & A with Museum experts. 

Two opportunities to watch on Thursday, February 22:

  • 10:00 a.m. Eastern/ 9:00 a.m. Central/ 8:00 a.m. Mountain/ 7:00 a.m. Pacific/ 6:00 a.m. Alaska/ 5:00 a.m. Hawaii

  • 1:00 p.m. Eastern/ Noon Central/ 11:00 a.m. Mountain/ 10:00 a.m. Pacific/ 9:00 a.m. Alaska/ 8:00 a.m. Hawaii

Classroom participation is free but requires advance registration. Sign up today!